News & Events
October 16, 2017
A First Glance at the 2017 Nobel Laureates welcomes this year’s 12 new Nobel Laureates: three in Physics, three in Chemistry, three in Physiology or Medicine, one in Literature, one in Peace – this year an organisation – and one new Laureate in Economic Sciences. All of them are introduced at with presentations, videos, photos and interviews.

Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young.

Awarded jointly to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young “for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm”.

Why is the circadian clock important? Anna Wedell of the Medicine Committee discusses the importance of our daily biological clock and why the findings of the 2017 Nobel Laureates are so crucial.



Awarded with one half to Rainer Weiss, and the other half jointly to Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne “for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves”.

“Huge discoveries are really the result of giant collaborations”. Physics Laureate Kip S. Thorne reflects on how this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics was a remarkable team effort.

Rainer Weiss, Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne.


Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank, Richard Henderson.

Awarded to Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson “for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution”.

“Now there’s an explosion in research.” Immediately after the announcement, Professor Peter Brzezinski, Member of the Chemistry Committee, described a cryo-electron microscope and how it has helped us to see the invisible.



Awarded to Kazuo Ishiguro “who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world”.

“The greatest authors in history have received this Prize”. Here, 2017 Literature Laureate Kazuo Ishiguro shares his reaction to the award: “I come in the line of lots of my greatest heroes”.

Kazuo Ishiguro.



Awarded to International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) “for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons”.

“Wow! This is amazing!”. Executive Director of ICAN Beatrice Fihn was surprised and overwhelmed when she received the news from the Norwegian Nobel Committee.



Awarded to Richard H. Thaler “for his contributions to behavioural economics”.

“He’s made economics more human”. Peter Gärdenfors, Member of the Prize Committee, explains Richard Thaler’s ground-breaking work in the field of behavioural economics.

Richard H. Thaler.


Illustrations: Niklas Elmehed. © Nobel Media 2017

See all 2017 Nobel Laureates